CFAES Give Today
News Releases Archive (Prior to 2011)

College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences


OARDC Honors Grad Student, Postdoc, Staff Research

April 29, 2011

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- The Ohio Agricultural Research and Development Center (OARDC) has announced the winners of its 2011 Research Project Poster Competition, held yesterday (4/28) during the center’s Annual Research Conference in Columbus.

The competition honors outstanding posters -- text and graphic summaries of research projects -- by OARDC-supported Ph.D. and master’s degree students, postdoctoral researchers, and staff.

Ph.D. Students

  • First place: Yu Chen, Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering (FABE), “Development of an Intelligent Sprayer Prototype for Nursery and Orchard Applications”; Erdal Ozkan, adviser. 
  • Second place: Yuan Yan, Food Science and Technology, “Intracellular Free Iron and Its Potential Role in Ultra-High Pressure Induced Inactivation of Escherichia coli”; Ahmed E. Yousef, adviser.
  • Third place: Charles Goss, School of Environment and Natural Resources (SENR), “Do Riparian Forest Patches Mitigate the Downstream Influence of Agriculture on Leaf Breakdown?”; Charles Goebel, adviser.

M.S. Students

  • First place: Lo niee Liew, FABE, “Enhancing Biogas Production from Leaves through Simultaneous Solid-State Anaerobic Digestion and Alkaline Treatment”; Yebo Li, adviser. 
  • Second place: Wanying Zhao, Horticulture and Crop Science, “Analysis of Age and Genetic Structure to Reconstruct the History of a Privet Invasion”; John Cardina, adviser.
  • Third place: Chelsea Smith, Entomology, “Testing the Interference Competition Hypothesis for Native Lady Beetle Decline”; Mary Gardiner, adviser.

Postdoctoral Researchers

  • First place: Zhifang Cui, FABE, “Comparison of Horse Mulch with Wheat Straw as Feedstocks During Solid-State Anaerobic Digestion”; Yebo Li, adviser.
  • Second place: Ruisheng An, Entomology, “Cooperative Endurance: A Remarkable Strategy Adopted by Symbiotic Bacteria to Persist in Their Nematode Vector”; Parwinder S. Grewal, adviser.
  • Third place: Sourav Chakraborty, Plant Pathology, “Detection of Methyl Jasmonate in Ash Phloem Extracts: A Simplified Gas Chromatography/Mass Spectrometry (GC/MS) Approach”; Pierluigi Bonello, adviser. 


  • First place: Sung-Chur Sim, Horticulture and Crop Science, “Genetic Association of SP5 with Plant Height, Inflorescence Architecture and Yield in Tomato”; David M. Francis, adviser. 
  • Second place: Sukhbir Grewal, FABE, “Fate of Aminocyclopyrachlor and Clopyralid During the Long Term Composting of Yard Trimmings”; Frederick Michel Jr., adviser.
  • Third place: Wee Fong Lee, FABE, “Cooling Capacity Assessment of Semi-Closed Greenhouses”; Peter P. Ling, adviser.

The first-place winners received $500; the second-place winners, $300; the third-place winners, $150.

Ohio Board of Regents Chancellor Jim Petro delivered the keynote address at the OARDC conference, which took place at Ohio State’s LEED-certified (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Nationwide and Ohio Farm Bureau Ohio 4-H Center.

OARDC is the research arm of Ohio State’s College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences and is the largest university agricultural bioscience research center in the United States.

Kurt Knebusch
Steve Slack