CFAES Give Today
News Releases Archive (Prior to 2011)

College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences


Cattle Breeder, Extension Educator Inducted in Dairy Hall of Service

May 22, 2007

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- A Jersey cattle breeder and a retired Ohio State University Extension educator in dairy management have been inducted into this year's Ohio State University Department of Animal Sciences Dairy Science Hall of Service.

The Dairy Science Hall of Service recognizes individuals who have made a substantial and noteworthy contribution toward the improvement of the Ohio dairy industry, elevated the stature of dairy farmers, or inspired Ohio State University students. The award is generally given to an industry-related individual, as well as a retiree affiliated with the university.

Lowell Stevens, of Champaign County, and OSU Extension educator Thomas Noyes, were selected for the award recently during the annual Dairy Recognition and Banquet in Plain City, Ohio.

Stevens is well known for his commitment to advancing the Jersey breed, his dedication to educating youth, and his untiring efforts to advance the Ohio dairy industry. He has spent over 40 years as a breeding technician, area sales representative, and area program consultant for Genex Cooperative, Inc.

He helped form Club Hill Jerseys in 1980, and since then, has enjoyed notoriety on the show circuit. At the 1985 Ohio State Fair, Club Hill Jerseys won Junior Champion, Grand Champion, and Premier Breeder and Exhibitor. His family has participated in the All-American Jersey Show for 12 years, with highlights including several Genetic Index awards and breeding the 1989 Reserve Grand Champion. Stevens is most well known on the state level for the Ohio Spring Classic sale that he manages every Memorial Day and consistently rates as one of the best sales in the country.

Lowell's commitment to youth is evident. He has served as a 4-H advisor for 25 years and has sat on both the county and state 4-H Advisory Boards. He served on the 2006 All-American Junior Jersey Activities Committee, the Spring Dairy Expo Committee, the State Ethics Committee, and the Host Day Committee for the 2000 National Holstein Convention. He was co-chair of the 2003 National Jersey Convention in Ohio.

Lowell currently represents Genex on the board of the Ohio Dairy Producers, and is a member of the Ohio Jersey Breeder's Association, Ohio Purebred Dairy Cattle Association, American Jersey Cattle Association, and the National Dairy Shrine.

Among the awards Lowell has received include the Dairy Herd Improvement Association Superior Achievement award, the Ohio Jersey Breeders' Pioneer Service award, the 1995 Kentucky Colonel, the 2000 Ohio State Fair Hall of Fame, and the Genex Mission Award.

Tom Noyes retired from Ohio State University in 2005, after over 30 years as an Extension educator in Wayne County. He was responsible for planning, conducting, and teaching dairy Extension programs throughout northeast Ohio. He also conducted field research in dairy nutrition, forage production, and farm financial management.

Noyes was a member of the OSU State Extension Dairy Team, Northeast Ohio Dairy Excel Team, OSU Extension Forage Team, and the OSU Extension Sustainable Agriculture Team.

He had extensive involvement in professional organizations throughout his career. They include the Ohio Extension Agents Association, American Dairy Science Association, National Mastitis Council, Ohio Forage and Grassland Council, American Jersey Cattle Association, Ohio Jersey Breeders Association, and the National Ayrshire and Ohio Ayrshire Breeders Associations.

Noyes currently operates a 100-cow dairy farm in Creston, Ohio. Upon request, he does consulting work in dairy management and teaches Extension dairy programs, including milking management schools and milking system trouble shooting for Amish dairy producers.

Portraits of the Dairy Science Hall of Service inductees are on display in Plumb Hall on Ohio State's College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences campus in Columbus, Ohio.

The Department of Animal Sciences has been presenting the award since the 1950s.

Candace Pollock
Maurice Eastridge