CFAES Give Today
News Releases Archive (Prior to 2011)

College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences


89 Honored at OARDC Employee Appreciation Night Oct. 3

October 4, 2002

WOOSTER, Ohio -- The Ohio Agricultural Research and Development Center (OARDC) honored 89 faculty and staff members during its annual Employee Appreciation Night Oct. 3 in the Shisler Conference Center in Wooster. Among them: Roger Hamilton of Shreve and Jody Lanham of Wooster, recipients of the 2002 OARDC Outstanding Staff Awards, which honor non-faculty staff members who provide exceptional service. Hamilton is a groundskeeper supervisor with the Research Operations department. Lanham is a systems specialist with Computing and Statistical Services. Also recognized were employees with 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 and 35 years of service. • 35 years: John Allred, Food Science and Technology/OARDC Director’s Office; Wayne Bacon, Animal Sciences; David Hahn, Agricultural, Environmental and Development Economics; Harold Keener, Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering; Harry Hoitink, Plant Pathology; William Styer, Entomology. • 30 years: Bob Dearth, Food Animal Health; David Horn, Entomology; Elizabeth Poeppelman, Natural Resources; Sue Romig, Animal Sciences; Linda Saif, Food Animal Health; Randy Sprang, Research Operations; Davis Sydnor, Natural Resources. • 25 years: Della Bardall, Library; Jerry Bigham, Natural Resources; Janice DiCarolis, Agricultural, Environmental and Development Economics; Robert Douglass, Natural Resources; David Elwell, Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering; Beverly Fisher, Animal Sciences; David Gessman, Animal Sciences; David Hartzler, Research Operations; Jim Holman, Computing and Statistical Services; David Holt, Horticulture and Crop Science; Audrey Johnston, Plant Pathology; Jim Karr, Outlying Branches; Dennis Kaufman, Facilities Services; Ronald Neiswander, Animal Sciences; John Nixon, Animal Sciences; Nancy Oliver, Animal Sciences; Kevin Power, Entomology; Ted Robison, Facilities Services; Mark Schmittgen, Horticulture and Crop Science; Kathryn Stafford, Consumer and Textile Sciences; Jill Taylor, Horticulture and Crop Science; Sharon Treaster, Horticulture and Crop Science; Bruce Williams, Horticulture and Crop Science; Jerry Zeltner, Outlying Branches. • 20 years: John Anderson, Animal Sciences; Carolyn Britt, Computing and Statistical Services; Linda Burianek, Food Science and Technology; Velma Cordial, Human and Community Resource Development; Mike Davis, Animal Sciences; Francis Fluharty, Animal Sciences; Ron Kline, Facilities Services; Michael Lichtensteiger, Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering; Keith Patterson, Animal Sciences; Marie Semko Duncan, Natural Resources; Ben Stinner, Entomology/Agroecosystems Management Program. • 15 years: Wen Chern, Agricultural, Environmental and Development Economics; Virginia Clark, Facilities Services; Doug Clevenger, Animal Sciences; David Drake Sr., Facilities Services; Paul Eggers, Outlying Branches; Martha Filipic, Communications and Technology; Jeff Firkins, Animal Sciences; Robert Hansen, Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering; Phil Harbaugh, Facilities Services; Casey Hoy, Entomology; Kathryn Jakes, Consumer and Textile Sciences; Pablo Jourdan, Horticulture and Crop Science; Rattan Lal, Natural Resources; Jody Lanham, Computing and Statistical Services; Mike Lilburn, Animal Sciences; Mark Loux, Horticulture and Crop Science; Jeanne Osborne, Animal Sciences; David Owens, Outlying Branches; Patricia Patterson, Natural Resources; Gary Pickerill, Outlying Branches; Rich Pratt, Horticulture and Crop Science; Emilie Regnier, Horticulture and Crop Science; Sudhir Sastry, Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering; Joe Scheerens, Horticulture and Crop Science; Jean Snyder, Human Resources; Megan Strother, Food Animal Health; Margaret Tish, Facilities Services; Robin Weimer, Fiscal Office; Michael Wengerd, Research Operations. • 10 years: Helga Beke, Plant Pathology; Brad Bergefurd, OSU South Centers; Steve Boyles, Animal Sciences; Karen Dodrill, Human Resources; David Kraybill, Agricultural, Environmental and Development Economics; Judy Luke, Agricultural, Environmental and Development Economics; John McCormick, Horticulture and Crop Science; Edwin Pickenpaugh, Outlying Branches; Joe Rimelspach, Plant Pathology; Mark Sulc, Horticulture and Crop Science. OARDC Director Steve Slack provided opening comments and presented the awards. A barbecue dinner, an annual tradition, preceded the program. OARDC is the research arm of Ohio State University’s College of Food, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences. Faculty, staff and graduate students work at Wooster, Piketon, Columbus and 10 outlying branches. - 30 -

Kurt Knebusch
OARDC Director's Office